Question

Regarding Mobile offline submitted applications

We would like to know about Mobile offline submitted applications in ML8 version (Pega 7.1.8 Custom Mobile app)
Steps that we followed:
1. Login in to the application when internet is available and submit one work item
2. Go to offline mode and submit another application with out internet connection
3. Offline submitted application not at all synced to server due to some connectivity / internet issues even when you come to online
4. At this time we un installed the LEAN application, and re downloaded.
Question here is?
will we be having the work item that was submitted earlier in offline mode? or will we miss the work item? Also, Confirm the behavior of Local storage, Sync queue and error logs?
Please confirm the behavior of Pega 7.1.8 in this case.

***Updated by Moderator: Vidyaranjan. Removed user added Ask the Expert tag. Apologies for confusion, shouldn't have been an end-user option***

***Updated by Moderator: Marissa to add Group Tag SR Exists***

Included SR-A89395

**Moderation Team has archived post**

This post has been archived for educational purposes. Contents and links will no longer be updated. If you have the same/similar question, please write a new post.

Group Tags

Correct Answer
July 27, 2016 - 10:34am

Yes your assumptions are right. As and when you uninstall the app, the items in the sync queue will be expunged. 

Comments

Keep up to date on this post and subscribe to comments

July 26, 2016 - 11:11am

Hi, 

Once you uninstall the APK / IPA or clear the data from application info, there goes the data from local storage. So the work items you submitted offline will not be available anymore. So it can never be synced back. 

Since you are uninstalling the app, the intial login will again take some time, because we have to package and send all the rules including the cases, flows, flowactions, sections and data pages. This phase is referred to as the full sync.

Sync queue is a queue of actions that was perfomed when the device was offline. This will be synced back to the server once the device is connected to network. Basically we replay all the actions that was performed when offline in the server too. 

Error logs capture the exceptions when we encounter any problems during the store and forward. 

 

July 26, 2016 - 11:39am

Hi Srikanth,

Noticed that you already created the SR-A89395 for the same issue described here. Given the reply from SathishKumar, can the SR be resolved? 

Regards,

Kevin

 

 

 

July 27, 2016 - 3:39am

Hi Satish,

As I understand from your reply, the work items which were submitted in offline and not at all to synced server will be deleted from client device when user un install the application.

In another scenario If work item is half synced and remaining screens syncing failed (we have used screen flow) due to network / coonection issues. When we unstall the app and re install it now I am assuming the data which was not synced will be deleted from clent storage.

In both the scenarios sync queue and error logs will be deleted when we reinstall the app without successfull sync?? Please correct me if my understanding is not correct.

July 27, 2016 - 10:34am
Response to SrikanthD2422

Yes your assumptions are right. As and when you uninstall the app, the items in the sync queue will be expunged.